Power­paola

49.

Samuel Fischer Gastprofessur

We are thrilled to announce that the Colombian-Ecuadorian comic artist and illustrator PowerPaola will take over the Samuel Fischer Guest Professorship for Literature this winter semester!

“Virus Tropical – screening & talk”

Powerpaola spoke with Lea Hübner

The event took place on December 7, at  ACUD Kino Berlin.

Adapted from the graphic novel memoir by Colombian-Ecuadorian cartoonist Powerpaola, Virus Tropical is a thoughtful and deeply affecting coming-of-age story that begins on the night Paola is conceived – in a stylized but anatomically complete sequence that sets the tone for the film’s matter-of-fact exploration of sexuality and family – and ends with her striking out on her own as a young adult. Over the intervening years we accompany Paola, the youngest of three daughters raised by a mostly single mom, as she gropes and fumbles her way through friendships, new schools, clunky romances, and various domestic dramas. Scrappy DIY black and white animation and lo-fi Latin-indie score lend a lovingly idiosyncratic charm to a film that brings forth a unique and utterly refreshing girl’s POV perspective. By the end you have formed a gentle intimacy with this family and are happy to have spent time together.

Powerpaola was born in Quito (Ecuador) in 1977 and moved to Colombia with her family at the age of 13. She studied at the Fundación Universitaria de Bellas Artes in Medellín, where she founded the art collective Taller 7. After extended stays in Paris, Sydney, San Salvador and Paris, among other places, she currently lives in Buenos Aires.  At the age of 27, she began drawing comics, which first appeared on Flickr; in 2011, the Argentinian publisher Editorial Comun published her autobiographical comic Virus Tropical. The comic was enthusiastically reviewed, translated into French, Italian and Brazilian and made into a film in 2017 (the film was shown at the Berlinale in 2018, among others). The German translation by Lea Hübner was published by Parallelallee in 2022.

Lea Hübner was born in Stuttgart, Germany, in 1973. She studied Latin American Studies as well as Spanish and Philosophy at Freie Universität Berlin. Before and during her university education she lived, studied and worked in Brazil and Spain for about two years. She is a freelance translator for Spanish and Portuguese of a  wide range of texts, such as literature, documents, essays, exhibition catalogues, children´s books and poetry, but with a main focus on comics by latin american authors, bringing Marcelo D’Salete, Marcello Quintanilha, Powerpaola, Sol Díaz, Angélica Freitas and Sole Otero to a german-speaking readership. Lea Hübner also works in a comic-bookshop, curates and interprets panel discussions with artists and has been working as a teacher for literary translation at several universities, currently at Lateinamerika-Institut at Freie Universität Berlin.

On Thursday, December 7, Powerpaola talked with Lea Hübner about her comic Virus Tropical, family, identity and her time in Berlin.

Literatures of the World

The Samuel Fischer Visiting Professorship for Literature was established on the initiative of Prof. Dr. Gerd Mattenklott at the beginning of the summer term 1998. It is funded by S. Fischer publishers, Freie Universität Berlin, the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and Holtzbrinck Berlin – Inspire Together. Each semester an author is invited to teach at the Peter Szondi Institute of Comparative Literature. In addition to a seminar at the Freie Universität Berlin public readings and events with the guest professors are organized in Berlin and other German cities.

Newsletter

News

Winter Semester 2023/24

Powerpaola

As part of the opening lecture on November 22, Powerpaola will talk about her writing practice in Virus Tropical and Todas las bicicletas que tuve as well as discuss other book publications, including QP and Todo va a estar bien. These texts will serve as the basis for Powerpaola’s presentation and discussion of topics she will explore with students in her winter semester seminar “I’m not talking about me (but also)”: the intimate and complex connection between creative work and life, oneself and other people.

Here you can find more information about Powerpaola

Summer Semester 2023

Nancy Campbell

We are delighted to announce that Scottish writer Nancy Campbell will be the Samuel Fischer Guest Professor for the upcoming summer semester. On May 4, she will give her public lecture »Hot Metal Frozen Paper« at the Peter Szondi Institute for General and Comparative Literature at Freie Universität Berlin. More information about the lecture is available here and you can find more information on Nancy Campbell here.

Winter Semester 2022/23

Notes On Love

On November 30, Xiaolu Guo and Divya Ghelani discussed craft, language, humour, and home in Guo’s novels and shared personal experiences as writers. The conversation took place at daadgalerie Berlin.

Summer Semester 2022

On Becoming A Feminist: Writing Here And Now

A conversation between Lina Meruane (Chile-USA) and Priya Basil (UK-Germany) about how increasing attention to female characters in their early fiction made them aware of gender troubles and about how, later on, becoming feminists influenced their non-fiction writing. Conversation in English. Click here for the recording on YouTube.

Wintersemester 2021/22

Dokument, Erfindung, Traum

On 16 February 2022, Dorothee Elmiger read from her book “From the Sugar Factory” and spoke with Florian Werner about her research, observations, inspirations as well as her time as Samuel Fischer Visiting Professor. The event took place at the daadgalerie and the recording was made available online for a limited time. Excerpts can be seen at @sfischerprof on Instagram.

read-write-design-read-write-design

Nancy Campbell and Salvador Plascencia in conversation with Svenja Gräfen at the Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst

© Andreas Lamm

Notes On Love: A Conversation with Xiaolu Guo.

Xiaolu Guo 郭小櫓 in conversation with Divya Ghelani at daadgalerie Berlin

© Phil-Dera

Five Men And A Caravaggio – Screening & Talk

Xiaolu Guo 郭小櫓 in conversation with Giuliana Kiersz

© Phil-Dera

Power­paola

49.

Samuel Fischer Gastprofessur

Wir freuen uns sehr, dass die kolumbianisch-ecuadorianische Comiczeichnerin und Illustratorin PowerPaola in diesem Wintersemester die Samuel Fischer Gastprofessur für Literatur übernimmt!

„Virus Tropical – screening & talk“

Powerpaola sprach mit Lea Hübner

Die Veranstaltung fand am 7. Dezember im ACUD Kino Berlin statt.

Virus Tropical basiert auf den Memoiren der kolumbianisch-ecuadorianischen Comiczeichnerin Powerpaola und ist eine nachdenkliche und tief berührende Coming-of-Age-Geschichte, die in der Nacht der Empfängnis von Paola beginnt – in einer stilisierten, aber anatomisch vollständigen Szenenfolge, die den Ton für die sachliche Erkundung von Sexualität und Familie im Film angibt – und damit endet, dass sie als junge Erwachsene ihren eigenen Weg geht. In den Jahren dazwischen begleiten wir Paola, die jüngste von drei Töchtern, die bei einer meist alleinerziehenden Mutter aufwächst, wie sie sich durch Freundschaften, neue Schulen, unbeholfene Romanzen und verschiedene häusliche Dramen tastet. Die krakelige DIY-Schwarz-Weiß-Animation und der Lo-Fi-Latin-Indie-Soundtrack verleihen dem Film einen liebevoll-idiosynkratischen Charme, der eine einzigartige und äußerst erfrischende Mädchenperspektive hervorbringt. Am Ende hat man eine sanfte Vertrautheit mit dieser Familie aufgebaut und ist froh, die Zeit gemeinsam verbracht zu haben.

Powerpaola wurde im Jahr 1977 in Quito (Ecuador) geboren und zog im Alter von 13 Jahren mit ihrer Familie nach Kolumbien. Sie studierte an der Fundación Universitaria de Bellas Artes in Medellín und gründete dort das Kunstkollektiv Taller 7. Nach längeren Aufenthalten u.a. in Paris, Sydney, San Salvador und Paris lebt sie derzeit in Buenos Aires. Im Alter von 27 Jahren begann sie Comics zu zeichnen, die zunächst auf Flickr erschienen; im Jahr 2011 veröffentlichte dann der argentinische Verlag Editorial Común ihren autobiographischen Comic Virus Tropical. Der Comic wurde begeistert rezensiert, ins Französische, Italienische und Brasilianische übersetzt, und im Jahr 2017 verfilmt (der Film war u.a. 2018 auf der Berlinale zu sehen). Die deutsche Übersetzung durch Lea Hübner erschien 2022 beim Verlag Parallelallee. Seitdem veröffentlichte Powerpaola die Graphic Novels QP (2014), Todo va a estar bien (2015), Nos vamos (2016) sowie Todas las bicicletas que tuve (2022).

Lea Hübner wurde 1973 in Stuttgart geboren. Sie studierte an der Freien Universität Berlin Lateinamerikanistik, Spanisch und Philosophie. Davor und währenddessen lebte, lernte und arbeitete sie ca. zwei Jahre in Brasilien und in Spanien. Sie ist als selbständige Übersetzerin für Spanisch und Portugiesisch mit ganz unterschiedlichen Arten von Texten befasst, etwa Literatur, Essay, Dokument, Austellungskatalog, Kinderbuch und Lyrik, doch ihr Hauptfokus sind Comics lateinamerikanischer Autor*innen. So machte sie Marcelo D’Salete, Marcello Quintanilha, Powerpaola, Sol Díaz, Angélica Freitas und Sole Otero dem deutschsprachigen Publikum erst zugänglich. Noch dazu arbeitet sie in einem Comicladen, sie kuratiert und dolmetscht Veranstaltungen mit Künstler*innen, und lehrt(e) an verschiedenen Universitäten literarisches Übersetzen, derzeit am Lateinamerika-Institut der Freien Universität Berlin.

Am Donnerstag, den 7. Dezember, sprach Powerpaola mit Lea Hübner über ihren Comic Virus Tropical, Familie, Identität und ihre Zeit in Berlin.

Literatures of the World

Die Samuel Fischer-Gastprofessur für Literatur wurde zu Beginn des Sommersemesters 1998 zusammen mit Prof. Dr. Gerd Mattenklott ins Leben gerufen. Sie wird getragen vom S. Fischer Verlag, der Freien Universität Berlin, dem DAAD und Holtzbrinck Berlin – Inspire Together. Jeweils für ein Semester wird eine Autorin bzw. ein Autor eingeladen, am Peter Szondi-Institut für Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaften zu lehren. Neben jeweils einem Seminar an der Freien Universität Berlin werden öffentliche Lesungen und Veranstaltungen mit den Gastprofessoren in Berlin und anderen deutschen Städten durchgeführt.

Newsletter

News

Wintersemester 2023/24

Powerpaola

Im Rahmen der Antrittsvorlesung am 22. November wird Powerpaola einen Kreis um ihre schriftstellerische Praxis in Virus Tropical und Todas las bicicletas que tuve ziehen sowie weitere Buchveröffentlichungen besprechen, darunter QP und Todo va a estar bien. Diese Texte werden Powerpaola als Grundlage für die Vorstellung und Erörterung von Themen dienen, die sie in ihrem im Wintersemester angebotenen Seminar „I’m not talking about me (but also)” zusammen mit den Studierenden behandeln wird: die intime und komplexe Verbindung zwischen kreativem Schaffen und Leben, sich selbst und anderen Menschen.

Hier gibt es weitere Details zur Antrittsvorlesung und hier gibt es mehr Infos zu Powerpaola.

Sommersemester 2023

Nancy Campbell

Wir freuen uns sehr, dass die schottische Schriftstellerin Nancy Campbell die Samuel Fischer Gastprofessur in diesem Sommersemester übernimmt. Am 4. Mai hält sie ihren öffentlichen Vortrag »Hot Metal Frozen Paper« am Peter-Szondi-Institut für Allgemeine und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft der Freien Universität Berlin. Mehr Informationen zum Vortrag gibt es hier und weitere Informationen zu Nancy Campbell hier.

Wintersemester 2022/23

Notes On Love

Am 30. November 2022 diskutierten Xiaolu Guo und Divya Ghelani über literarisches Handwerk, Sprache, Humor und Heimat in Xiaolu Guos Romanen und teilten persönliche Erfahrungen als Schriftstellerinnen. Das Gespräch fand in englischer Sprache in der daadgalerie Berlin statt.

Sommersemester 2022

On Becoming A Feminist: Writing Here And Now

Ein Gespräch zwischen Lina Meruane (Chile-USA) und Priya Basil (Großbritannien-Deutschland) darüber, wie die zunehmende Aufmerksamkeit für weibliche Charaktere in den frühen Romanen beider Autorinnen sie für die Probleme der Geschlechter sensibilisierte und wie die spätere Entwicklung zu Feministinnen ihr nicht-fiktionales Schreiben beeinflusst hat. Das Gespräch fand in englischer Sprache statt. Hier geht es zur Aufzeichnung auf YouTube.

Wintersemester 2021/22

Dokument, Erfindung, Traum

Am 16. Februar 2022 las Dorothee Elmiger aus ihrem Buch »Aus der Zuckerfabrik« und sprach mit Florian Werner über ihre Recherchen, Beobachtungen, Inspirationen sowie ihre Zeit als Samuel Fischer Gastprofessorin. Die Veranstaltung fand in der daadgalerie statt und die Aufzeichnung wurde für einen limitierten Zeitraum online zur Verfügung gestellt. Auszüge sind bei @sfischerprof auf Instagram zu sehen.

read-write-design-read-write-design

Nancy Campbell und Salvador Plascencia im Gespräch mit Svenja Gräfen in der Galerie für Zeitgenössische Kunst

© Andreas Lamm

Notes On Love: A Conversation with Xiaolu Guo.

Xiaolu Guo 郭小櫓 im Gespräch mit Divya Ghelani in der daadgalerie Berlin

© Phil-Dera

Five Men And A Caravaggio – Screening & Talk

Xiaolu Guo 郭小櫓 im Gespräch mit Giuliana Kiersz

© Phil-Dera